Nige2009
stranger
Reged: 02/07/2009
Posts: 7
|
|
Subscribe to the mag and last month caught an advert for a company removing speeding camera points from driving licences. Was a little scepticle at first but fired off the £29.99 and got the removal pack, sent my licence off to DVLA and got my licence back this morning clean as a whistle. To be fair I only had 1 SP30 but now I don't. Very happy.
The company
www.pointfree.co.uk
Cheers lads!
|
chappers
Carpal \'Tunnel
Reged: 31/12/2006
Posts: 6701
Loc: Mind your own business
|
|
There is an easier way. Keep your eyes peeled and don't get caught.
-------------------- Say what you think and think what you say.
|
Biggles
Carpal \'Tunnel
Reged: 05/05/2007
Posts: 3089
Loc: Orion arm of the milky way
|
|
what is in the "removal pack"? all sounds very odd to me.
-------------------- Quote me as saying I was miss-quoted.
|
Nige2009
stranger
Reged: 02/07/2009
Posts: 7
|
|
I sent them my name and address + payment as requested and the pack (a 5 page document) with a space for you to sign and a space for you to insert your driving licence number, quotes some legislation asking the DVLA to prove that the camera had written authorisation from parliament. The company POINTFREE said they would give a refund if the points were not removed, I sent my licence off and the licence came back this morning, 3 wekks from start to finish, I'm happy.
I also got a £60 fine, 40 in a 30 I got flashed. Not bothered about the £60, was interested in having the points removed as my company are cracking down on drivers points now, I am a van driver for an electrical wholesaler.
|
Biggles
Carpal \'Tunnel
Reged: 05/05/2007
Posts: 3089
Loc: Orion arm of the milky way
|
|
mmm, nice. Sounds like a good to try if necessary, I take it that it would only work on fixed site GATSO's.
-------------------- Quote me as saying I was miss-quoted.
|
Padster
journeyman
Reged: 28/08/2008
Posts: 55
Loc: London
|
|
Yeah ive seen their advert in this issue, looks like a great idea (if it works) ive told my mate who has just been issued a speeding fine and he is buying 'a pack' from them...ill keep you posted!!!
|
immy
veteran
Reged: 09/11/2006
Posts: 1350
|
|
Quote:
I sent them my name and address + payment as requested and the pack (a 5 page document) with a space for you to sign and a space for you to insert your driving licence number, quotes some legislation asking the DVLA to prove that the camera had written authorisation from parliament.
Let me get this right. You send off to get the pack-you fill it out and return it to this "pointfree" They check to see if the speed cam is authorised and if its not they reply to you advising you to send your licence to the DVLA to get the points removed? Im a bit sceptical Can you quote the legislation they use in the "pack"? The reason Im sceptical is that if the camera didnt have written authorisation(whatever that is)then the points AND the penalty are BOTH invalid. So you should get your fine/penalty payment back as well,shouldnt you? Or perhaps someone is getting it back on your behalf and you dont know it-just a thought. Also does the "Pack" ask precisely where the camera is situated that got you,so they can check to see if its "authorised"? Another thing Im suspicious of is that home page. Did you see the spelling of "License" American then "Licence" European.And the pictures look more like a typical US skyline  Might do a bit of digging
Edited by immy (15/07/2009 15:30)
|
FastBikerBoy
veteran
Reged: 08/11/2006
Posts: 1479
Loc: Norfolk, UK - Police State
|
|
I'm always skeptical of this type of thing. I generally follow the mantra if it seems to good to be true it usually is.
Reminds me of the perfectly legal con from a few years ago. Advert in the paper read "Send me £50 and I guarantee to reduce your BT phone bill to zero - yes zero guaranteed, full instructions sent once payment received"
Apparently the 'secret' was to contact BT and tell them you no longer wanted your phone and you wanted your line disconnected, hence the zero bill. Nothing anyone could do about it apparently as the service was as advertised. 
Gotta admire the brass neck of some.
-------------------- FBB
|
chappers
Carpal \'Tunnel
Reged: 31/12/2006
Posts: 6701
Loc: Mind your own business
|
|
Quote:
Another thing Im suspicious of is that home page. Did you see the spelling of "License" American then "Licence" European.And the pictures look more like a typical US skyline  Might do a bit of digging
I've just had a look at the home page too some digging may be an idea
Quote:
Hi – my name is John Trinder I own a Suzuki 750cc motorbike and it is one of the great joys of my life to experience the power of a motorbike on an open road. There is nothing more exhilarating. Maybe you’ve been rushing to the hospital, or you’ve been late for an appointment. Maybe you just weren’t aware of the speed limit in the area where you have been driving and sometimes you get caught on camera.*
the above paragrath smells really fishy to me. Does anybody know another biker who would say I own a Suzuki 750cc motorbike. Sales pitch through and through not a particuraly good one either IMO.
-------------------- Say what you think and think what you say.
|
FastBikerBoy
veteran
Reged: 08/11/2006
Posts: 1479
Loc: Norfolk, UK - Police State
|
|
Call me cynical but Nige2009 who claims this has worked for him has only made a total of 6 posts - all on the same day, (2 in this topic, 1 with a for sale, 1 joke and 3 about wait for it................ a Suzuki 750 - bit of a coincidence to my cynical, sceptical mind, I'm afraid.
-------------------- FBB
|
immy
veteran
Reged: 09/11/2006
Posts: 1350
|
|
Im already passed the barb wire and Im already waiting for some answers-from him and somebody else. What if I were to say that "friends" in the town where the office is have been asked to poke around  And what if I was to say that"friends"at the DVLC dont seem to know about this either so their going to poke around  Will it all go quiet I wonder  I wait in anticipation. I may even ask for a pack but that might spoil things
|
Biggles
Carpal \'Tunnel
Reged: 05/05/2007
Posts: 3089
Loc: Orion arm of the milky way
|
|
Quote:
the above paragrath smells really fishy to me. Does anybody know another biker who would say I own a Suzuki 750cc motorbike. Sales pitch through and through not a particuraly good one either IMO.
I am with you about being suspicious.
Although I think the "I have a Suzuki 750cc motorbike" could have been worded for car drivers who don't know what a bike is. Which in a funny way could make it more believable. There are after all many more car drivers, so "I have a Renault Clio..." would appeal to more people. Unless there is a car version of the site...
Padster has got a mate trying it. Proof of the pudding will be in the lack pointing.
-------------------- Quote me as saying I was miss-quoted.
|
Biggles
Carpal \'Tunnel
Reged: 05/05/2007
Posts: 3089
Loc: Orion arm of the milky way
|
|
mmmm... for some reason the site is hosted in Germany... a tiny bit odd for a co.uk
ISP is 1&1 Internet AG IP Address 82.165.208.26
-------------------- Quote me as saying I was miss-quoted.
|
chappers
Carpal \'Tunnel
Reged: 31/12/2006
Posts: 6701
Loc: Mind your own business
|
|
Why would anybody in their right mind send £26 to a sight hosted abroad but showing a UK address, targeting people who have suffered a misfortune stinks of possible classic scam. Kenny you guys might want to be a tad wary full page ads aren't cheap but always seem legit. Oh I've just gotten an email telling me I've won 10,000,000GBP on the lichtenstien lottery as soon as I've sent off my £50 admin fee it will be transfered to the bank account details I gave them when I paid by debit card. can't wait.
-------------------- Say what you think and think what you say.
|
shinybusa
Pooh-Bah
Reged: 08/01/2008
Posts: 1989
Loc: away with the fairies..
|
|
Quote:
Im already passed the barb wire and Im already waiting for some answers-from him and somebody else. What if I were to say that "friends" in the town where the office is have been asked to poke around  And what if I was to say that"friends"at the DVLC dont seem to know about this either so their going to poke around  Will it all go quiet I wonder  I wait in anticipation. I may even ask for a pack but that might spoil things
I've also been asking a few pointed questions about this........with certain "FRIENDS".....they are of the opinion of and I qoute " BET THE FUCKER WON'T TURN UP IN COURT IF CALLED, WHAT ARE HIS PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS ON THE SUBJECT ANYWAY"
It just doesn't add up....I can sniff a bit of a scam/spam........going on..smell PORK a mile away....
|
immy
veteran
Reged: 09/11/2006
Posts: 1350
|
|
Can I ask everyone to pass on that at the moment its not a good idea to invest in this company. They dont answer emails and they dont answer the telephone to loaded questions . In addition lets see what DVLC(specialist section ) and Wolverhamtopn Roads Policing Unit come up with  Cumon Point Free-nows your chance to be open. You were asked and you havnt replied
|