Racing Roundup – MotoGP- Round 4 Jerez

Stihl Banner ad-1

Racing fans have had plenty to keep them entertained this bank holiday weekend in the form of MotoGP from Jerez and British Supebike action at a far wetter Oulton Park.


The MotoGP racing this weekend was all about one man

The MotoGP racing this weekend was all about one man

At 21 years old, Marc Marquez has ticked off most boxes where bike racing is concerned. Lap records, race wins and a World Championship are all his already. What Marquez lacked however, was a victory in the premier class at his home round in Jerez.

Showing blistering performance from the get-go this year with a clean sheet of pole positions and race wins meant it would be madness to bet against him for another win at home.

Sure enough the Spaniard continued to crush the hopes of the competition with a dominant performance in qualifying and it was looking as if he would do his usual disappearing act into the distance. When the lights went out it didn’t quite go that way, for two laps at least..

Andrea Dovizioso took the holeshot with Rossi and Lorenzo putting up a valiant effort to keep Marquez in sight but once MM93 saw open track at the end of lap two he stayed in front until the chequered flag. Marquez became the first rider to win the opening four rounds of the season since Valentino Rossi way back in 2002 and it also marked his 100th GP start.

The battle for second was fought between the usual suspects of Pedrosa, Lorenzo and Rossi. Usually we’d see Pedrosa sneak into second spot and stay there without too much fuss. On this occasion Rossi showed a turn of speed that Pedrosa couldn’t match and Pedrosa was left to settle for third with Rossi on the second step of the podium. The race also saw plenty of non finishers including Ducati’s Cal Crutchlow who pulled in with brake failure on his Desmosedici after only three laps, a frustrating result on his first race back after injury meant he missed the last round in Argentina.

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 27 laps
2. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) +1.431s
3. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) +1.529s
4. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) +8.541s
5. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) +27.494s
6. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) +27.606s
7. Aleix Espargaro ESP NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) +27.917s
8. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) +27.947s
9. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* +29.419s
10. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) +32.872s
11. Nicky Hayden USA Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R) +35.490s
12. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R) +40.083s
13. Scott Redding GBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RCV1000R)* +43.830s
14. Yonny Hernandez COL Pramac Racing (Desmosedici) +52.295s
15. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing (Avintia) +54.873s 16. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART) +1m 06.182s
17. Broc Parkes AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART)* +1m 23.420s Not Classified

18. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)
19. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing (Avintia)*
20. Andrea Iannone ITA Pramac Racing (Desmosedici)
21. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (RCV1000R)
22. Cal Crutchlow GBR Ducati Team (Desmosedici)
23. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici)

DNS Danilo Petrucci ITA IodaRacing Project (ART)